BOOK NOW!
There are guided ‘sound and light’ tours of the inside the world’s highest gravity dam. Guided tours inside the dam The zip line at Grande Dixence is 700 metres long and runs next to the world's highest gravity dam, at an altitude of 2400 m. It's definitely worth a visit. Leap into the void and go skimming along beside this concrete colossus it's absolutely thrilling! The AlpinLine, 700 Meters of thrill ! Whether you are planning a company outing, a team building exercise or a school trip, let us help you create a memorable day at the Grande Dixence site with a custom itinerary. Information : visites@grande-dixence.ch Special offer for school outings : CHF 30. Company outings, team building, school trips Tackle the world’s highest gravity dam! Six climbing routes (4a to 5c) are carved into the structure and secured by two self-belaying systems. You can hire equipment (shoes and harness) on site or bring your own. Information and booking at the top station of the cable car. Climbing wall The top of the dam offers a dazzling 360° view. It can be reached freely on foot (approx. 45 minutes) or by cable car.The crest is the starting point for many walks: the ibex trail, the Prafleuri hut, the Dix hut and the Gentiane hut. Walk on the crest The construction of the Grande Dixence dam presented a technical as well as a human challenge. The “Au coeur de l'histoire de la Grande Dixence” (The history of Grande Dixence up close) exhibition offers insights into one of last century’s epic construction projects. The trail of superlatives The pumping stations (Arolla and Z'Mutt) and the power stations (Fionnay, Nendaz and Bieudron) the Grande Dixence complex are open to the public from Monday to Friday, except on public holidays. The power plants

Discover the Grande
Dixence !

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Sleep

Hôtel du Barrage

In the heart of an exceptional site, the hotel welcomes you at the foot of the imposing dam. Its industrial-style building offers 60 rooms with a view over the Val des Dix.

An ideal stopover for trekkers on the Val d'Hérens tour or the ideal stopover for lovers of industrial heritage to relive the epic of the dam.

Read more
Read more

The restaurant

Located in the heart of the Valais, on a site steeped in history, the Hotel Restaurant du Barrage welcomes you to the cradle of Grande Dixence.

From the beginning of June, our restaurant opens its doors to welcome you at the foot of the Grande Dixence dam, three minutes from the crest and Dix Lake.

Read more
Read more

Cabane Prafleuri

From the foot of the dam, you can walk to the top of the wall or take the « Chargeur » cable car.

If you reach the Grande Dixence dam by private car, if you arrive early enough you will find a parking space in one of the two car parks located next to the cable car departure station.

Read more
Read more

The concretegiant

The Grande Dixence dam, the highest gravity dam in the world, is part of a vast complex which includes four pumping stations (Z'Mutt, Stafel, Ferpècle and Arolla) and three production plants (Fionnay, Nendaz and Bieudron), with a total capacity of 2000 MW.

The Grande Dixence hydroelectric complex thus produces some 2 billion kWh each year and accounts for 20% of Switzerland's storage energy. It supplies the equivalent of 500,000 households with electricity.

x Winter opening of the Prafleuri hut : Saturday March 2nd : www.prafleuri.ch The access road to the Grande Dixence site is closed in winter. We look forward to seeing you in june 2024. Information and group bookings : visites@grande-dixence.ch
Cookie policy
By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies to improve your user experience and for the generation of visit statistics. You can customise the use of cookies using the buttons below.
My preferences

BOOK NOW!
Des visites guidées « sons et lumières » sont organisées dans les entrailles du plus haut barrage-poids du monde. Visites guidées au coeur du barrage Avec 700 mètres de long, la tyrolienne de la Grande Dixence vaut le détour. Elle longe le mur du plus haut barrage-poids du monde à 2400 m d’altitude. Elancez-vous dans le vide et frôlez ce colosse de béton pour des sensations fortes garanties ! L’AlpinLine, 700m de frissons ! Laissez-nous vous concocter une journée inoubliable sur le site de la Grande Dixence avec un programme sur mesure pour vos sorties d'entreprise, team building, promenades d'écoles. Informations : visites@grande-dixence.ch Offre spéciale pour les sorties scolaires : CHF 30. Sortie d’entreprise, team building,… A l’assaut du plus haut barrage-poids du monde ! Découvrez six voies de grimpe tracées à même le barrage (cotées 4a à 5c) et sécurisées par deux auto-freineurs. Mur de grimpe Le couronnement du barrage offre une vue éblouissante sur 360°. On y accède librement à pied (env. 45 minutes) ou en téléphérique. Le couronnement est le point de départ pour de nombreuses balades: sentier des bouquetins, cabane de Prafleuri, cabane des Dix et cabane de la Gentiane. Promenade sur le couronnement La construction de la Grande Dixence était non seulement un défi technique, mais aussi un défi humain. L’exposition « Au coeur de l’histoire de la Grande Dixence » vous fera découvrir cette épopée du siècle dernier. Le chantier des superlatifs Les stations de pompage (Arolla et Z’Mutt) et les centrales de production (Fionnay, Nendaz et Bieudron) du complexe de Grande Dixence sont ouvertes au public tous les jours ouvrables de l’année, soit du lundi au vendredi. Les centrales

Visitez la
Grande
Dixence !

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

Séjourner

Hôtel du Barrage

Au coeur d’un site d’exception, l'Hôtel vous accueille au pied de l’imposant barrage. Son bâtiment de type industriel offre 60 chambres avec une vue plongeante sur le Val des Dix.

Une escale idéale pour les trekkeurs sur le tour du Val d’Hérens ou l’étape rêvée des amoureux de patrimoine industriel pour revivre l’épopée du barrage.

En savoir plus
En savoir plus

Le restaurant

Situé au coeur du Valais, sur un lieu chargé d’histoire, l’Hôtel Restaurant du Barrage vous accueille au berceau de la Grande Dixence.

Dès le début du mois de juin, notre restaurant ouvre ses portes pour vous accueillir au pied du Barrage de la Grande Dixence, à trois minutes du couronnement, et du lac des Dix.

En savoir plus
En savoir plus

La Cabane Prafleuri

Du pied du barrage, pour rejoindre le couronnement du mur, vous pouvez le faire à pied ou prendre le téléphérique du « Chargeur ».

Si vous rejoignez le barrage de la Grande Dixence avec un véhicule privé, en arrivant assez tôt vous trouverez une place de parc dans un des deux parkings situés à côté de la gare de départ du téléphérique.

En savoir plus
En savoir plus

Le géantde béton

Le barrage de la Grande Dixence, plus haut barrage-poids du monde, fait partie d’un vaste aménagement qui comprend quatre stations de pompage (Z’Mutt, Stafel, Ferpècle et Arolla) et trois usines de production (Fionnay, Nendaz et Bieudron), d’une puissance totale de 2000 MW.

Le complexe hydroélectrique de Grande Dixence produit ainsi chaque année quelque 2 milliards de kWh et représente le 20% de l’énergie d’accumulation en Suisse. Il permet d’alimenter en électricité l’équivalent de 500’000 ménages.

Déclaration de consentement aux cookies
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour améliorer votre expérience utilisateur et réaliser des statistiques de visites. Vous pouvez personnaliser l'utilisation des cookies à l'aide du bouton ci-dessous.
Mes préférences
x Ouverture du site prévue le samedi 1er juin 2024 ! Nous nous réjouissons de vous retrouver. Pour tout complément d'informations et réservations de groupes : visites @grande-dixence.ch